the macaron love affair.

30 Jun 2012 § 1 Comment

My serious love affair with macarons (eating, not making) only began in the last year or so. I’d previously tried the ones at Canelé Pâtisserie during a visit to Singapore many years ago but strangely enough, I didn’t think much of it.

When the macaron craze hit the shores of Malaysia with reviews after reviews pouring in on foodie blogs, I decided to give it another try. I started with the ones at Whisk (badly made, crispy shells, way too sweet):

…moved on to T Forty Two (still too sweet but better texture than Whisk):

…and finally found the perfect ones at Nathalie’s Gourmet Studio, my current go-to shop for macarons. The sweet ones (cherry, strawberry, raspberry, etc.) were still too sweet for my liking while the tangy ones (lemon, lime) were nice but The Perfect Macaron for me was definitely the Salted Caramel macaron. It had a perfect balance of sweet and salty that got me totally hooked, but at RM4.40 per macaron, it was an expensive indulgence to say the least!

When Les Deux Garcons opened its doors at Bangsar, I made a trip there to try their famed macarons, but despite the good reviews, I didn’t like the ones here. The salted caramel macaron was a major disappointment as the filling was made of buttercream and honestly, I thought the truffle macaron tasted like gas, heh.

Along the way, both the boyfriend and my little girl were naturally introduced to the wonderful world of macarons as well – both of them are currently fans of the chocolate macarons from Nathalie’s. While I limit the ‘lil miss to two macarons whenever I buy a box from Nathalie’s, the boyfriend enjoys it so much that he frequently comments that he could ‘eat these like cookies’. This, plus my recent discovery that cake supply stores have started stocking almond powder, has finally led to my attempts to make some. After one failed attempt (macarons with no feet!), I finally succeeded last night and I’ll be documenting this in the next post, so keep an eye out for it!

Updated!

  • Attempt #2: click here
  • Attempt #3 (success!): click here
Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to the macaron love affair.

What's on your mind?

What’s this?

You are currently reading the macaron love affair. at love . chance . choice ..

meta

