there’s no such thing as too much chocolate.

9 Jul 2012 § 2 Comments

A yearning for good chocolate chip cookies led me to Google, which eventually led me to this blog, Delectable, that had a post entitled ‘The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies (EVER)‘.

How could one resist?

Since I had all the ingredients ready at hand, I decided to try out the recipe last Thursday night after work. Needless to say, I went to bed at the end of the day smelling of chocolate and butter…mmm…

Here’s the recipe from her blog (with my comments in italic):

The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie via Cooks Illustrated

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp baking soda (I used 1/2 tsp)
  • 14 tablespoons butter, divided into 10 tablespoons + 4 tablespoons (I used unsalted and added 1/2 tsp sea salt)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar, well packed (I used muscovado sugar, compacting it well in the measuring cup before pouring into a bowl. You’ll know if you have packed it well if it holds its shape when its turned out from the measuring cup.)
  • 1 tsp table salt (I used sea salt)
  • 2 – 4 tsp vanilla extract (I used 3 tsp vanilla bean paste)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 cups chocolate chunks – (I used a 100gm bar of Lindt chocolate – I think it was 85% chocolate and the rest were made up of dark chocolate chips)

Preparation:

1. Measure the flour and baking soda and pour into a bowl.

2. Measure the light and dark brown sugar and pour into another bowl.

3. Melt 10 tablespoons of butter in a pan. The original recipe mentions that “once melted, keep on heat, swirling constantly, until the butter has browned well, and is toasty and nutty. You want it browned and caramel-y and dark and gleaming, but not burnt”. I couldn’t get it to brown much (plus I didn’t want it to burn), but it had the toasted smell, so that was enough for me. Do remember to use a stainless steel pan though – do NOT use a black-bottomed pan since you won’t be able to see if the butter has turned brown. Once done, pour into a heatproof bowl (which you will use for whisking, so make sure it’s big enough), and add the remaining 4 tablespoons of butter, mix till melted.

4. Add in sugar, salt and vanilla essence/paste and whisk. Add the egg and the egg yolk and whisk again.

5. This step is apparently very important: Let the mixture stand for about 3-5 minutes, and whisk again for 30 seconds. Repeat this 3 times in total. The mixture should thicken and have a stiff, liquid caramel consistency. When I did this, the mixture did thicken somewhat, though for me, it was more of a thick cake batter consistency.

6. Mix in flour until just combined. Let the mixture rest for a minute then mix in the chocolate chunks/chips. I was abit worried at this point as the chocolate to dough ratio looked wrong – there seemed to be wayyy too much chocolate! But since I’ve come this far, into the oven they shall go!

7. Let the mixture rest again as you preheat your oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Line a cookie tin with baking paper (TIP: if you don’t have a flat cookie tin, ie. without sides, just turn your current cookie tin upside down and voila! Flat cookie tin for free!).

8. I managed to get 22 pretty big cookies out of the mixture – I guess the size of the cookies really depends on your own personal preference!

9. Bake for 7-9 minutes or until just browned on the edges (mine took 9 minutes). It’s best to bake it one sheet at a time for even baking. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes before transferring it to the wire rack. My cookies were still slightly soft at the top when I removed it from the oven, but it became slightly crunchier after I left it to cool down on the cookie tray for a short while.

The cookies came out crunchy on the outside and just slightly chewy in the middle. I realized that there’s really no such thing as too much chocolate – the ratio came out absolutely perfect. What I truly love about the cookie, though, was the slightly salty undertones (from the butter?) – just a slight tinge but it somehow balanced out the sweetness of the cookie and chocolate chunks!

This recipe’s definitely a keeper, though the next time I make it, I think I’ll go for smaller, Famous Amos-sized cookies that aesthetically looks less sinful compared to these giant ones!

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to there’s no such thing as too much chocolate.

What's on your mind?

What’s this?

You are currently reading there’s no such thing as too much chocolate. at love . chance . choice ..

meta

