this is the best way to sleep.

10 Jul 2012 § 1 Comment

With her hand holding mine, she pulls my arm above and around her as she turns on her side with her back facing me. She scoots backwards till her back is pressed against my body. I bury my face in her hair and breathe in the faint scent of shampoo – literally the scent of victory after a hard-won battle between morning cartoons and a shower.

I can see her eyelashes fluttering as slowly drifts off to sleep.

She murmurs, “Have a good sleep, mommy.”

I think to myself, and then aloud, “This is the best way to sleep.”

She must have heard me as she turns back and in her typical fashion, asks, “Whaaat?”

“I said, this is the best way to sleep, darling girl. Hugging you like this.”

She pauses, as if she’s considering my words, then nods and repeats what I said back to me.

“This is the best way to sleep, mommy.”

And we both fall fast asleep together, her fingers entwined in mine.

It really IS the best way to sleep.

*****************************

Two hours later, I wake to find her feet firmly planted in my back.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to this is the best way to sleep.

What's on your mind?

What’s this?

You are currently reading this is the best way to sleep. at love . chance . choice ..

meta

