[fifty shades of] forty licks.

7 Sep 2012 § Leave a comment

I first heard about Forty Licks from one of my go-to food blogs, Eat Drink KL. If you’re interested, you can find out more about how 26-year-old Tat Wei ended up churning ice cream by reading Eat Drink KL’s blog post (and another one by Pure Glutton on how the name was derived) coz I’m gonna dive straight into a review on the ice cream!

Forty Licks’s current ice cream flavors consists of 2 categories: Normal @ RM25/pint and Premium @ RM30/pint. There’s a choice of Salted Caramel, Pistachio, Earl Grey, Thai Tea, Green Tea and Bandung (a special Hari Raya flavor) under the normal category, while the premium category consists of Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Peanut Butter, Honey with Caramel Swirls and Macadamia, Honey with Dark Chocolate, Caramelised White Chocolate which is a comfortable variety that should satisfy a range of sweet-toothed customers.

Love the pretty, retro-ish logo!

Considering how I always declare that salted caramel anything is good, it was definitely my top choice when I decided to place an order. Forty Licks also sells a sampler pack @ RM40, consisting of 6 random flavors, and I decided to order that as well so that I could try some of the other flavors that the bloggers have been raving about (was keeping my fingers crossed that I would get the Honey with Dark Chocolate flavor!).

Placing an order was easy – I did it via a message through Facebook – and two days later, Tat Wei kindly met me outside my parents’ apartment to pass me the ice cream.

Before I move on with the review, I should add that I’m not a big fan of overly sweet ice cream (if I had my way, all chocolate ice cream would be dark chocolate and dark chocolate only, heh!) so do keep that in mind.

After tasting all seven flavors, I have to say that Forty Licks Ice Cream can easily give store-bought ice cream a run for its money. The ice cream is very smooth and undoubtedly creamy, and there’s a rich decadence to some of the flavors that can only be found in home made ice cream.

Now on to a flavor-by-flavor review:

Salted Caramel: It tasted exactly like how I imagined it would be. Yes, it was just slightly on the sweet side (for me), and after a few spoonfuls, I think I would’ve liked it to have abit more of the caramelized, smoky taste to balance the sweetness but that’s just a personal preference. Overall, it has all the facets of salted caramel – the sweetness and the slight savoury aftertaste. Besides, my little girl sampled some and you know you can’t go wrong when a kid goes ‘mmmm’….

Honey with Dark Chocolate: This was surprisingly NOT on the sweet side. The taste of the honey was very light, almost fleeting, as the ice cream melts pretty fast to leave pieces of dark chocolate melting in your mouth. To be honest, it took me a few spoonfuls to get used to it. Again, personal preference, but I would’ve preferred the dark chocolate to be in slightly smaller chunks as the bigger pieces kinda overpowered the ice cream.

Dark Chocolate: Absolutely delicious. And I’m not just saying that because I love dark chocolate! It’s creamy, yet not heavily so (for example, the chocolate ice-cream at Baskin Robbins is extremely heavy and ‘sticky’, I can hardly finish a scoop without feeling the need to reach for a cup of water), making it easy to devour a whole cup before you realize the damage that’s gonna hit your hips in the days to come…

Pistachio: I’m not a pistachio fan. I honestly find pistachio anything weird, except when it’s in the nut form. This ice cream flavor was a surprise to me – I was initially hesitant to try it, but the more I ate, the more I found myself liking it. There were generous pieces of pistachios in every mouthful I took and the taste definitely grew on me.

Milk Chocolate with Peanut Butter: I found this way too sweet for my liking, but then again, milk chocolate is far down on my list when it comes to chocolate so I moved on to other flavors after taking only one spoonful.

Bandung: This is a nice, light flavor with a slight tinge of rose aftertaste that’s not too overpowering. Nice, but probably one of those flavors I would try just once. After all, there are just so many other flavors clamoring to be eaten! (Do note that this is a special flavor for Hari Raya)

Earl Grey: Another lovely flavor – the aroma and taste of the tea were apparent but not overtly so, and it leaves a pleasant aftertaste in your mouth. Very light and refreshing – probably a flavor I would choose after a heavy dinner.

My top three picks after sampling seven flavors? Salted Caramel, Dark Chocolate and Pistachio!

Forty Licks will be making its debut at the Plaza Mont Kiara Market on 9 September 2012, so head on over this Sunday to say hello to Tat Wei and sample some of his ice cream!

Alternatively, you can place your order through Facebook: Forty Licks Ice Cream. Go on then, you know you want to…

Edit: After publishing the post, I was asked by a few people: what’s up with the fifty shades part in the title? Well, it’s coz I don’t like vanilla (ice-cream!), heh.

Tagged: , , , , ,

What's on your mind?

What’s this?

You are currently reading [fifty shades of] forty licks. at love . chance . choice ..

meta

