rediscovering happiness.

2 Jan 2014 § 4 Comments

A friend asked me, right before we left the office on 31st December 2013 – what are the two words you would use to sum up the year?

Took me awhile – after all, how do you sum up such a tumultuous year in just two words?

I finally settled for these two.

Rediscovering | Happiness.

Two separate words or a short phrase. Either way, it works.

2013 was definitely a year of rediscovery for me. Rediscovering myself – the things I used to like, the hobbies, the books, the movies, my personal style…things that had fallen by the wayside as I got too caught up in other matters. Rediscovering family ties that had drifted, unanchored, in the past couple of years. Rediscovering friendship – with my girlfriends, with my crazy group of boys. Rediscovering my love and passion for my work – something that has sadly disintegrated in the past 3 to 4 years (this was definitely one of the highlights of last year!). Rediscovering courage – to be by myself, to embrace and enjoy my ‘me’ time, to speak my mind, to say no even though everyone is urging me to say yes, to move out of my comfort zone instead of always opting for the familiar and the tried and tested, to do the things I want to do, the things that make me happy. The courage to say “eff it all, this is how I’m going to do it“.

And most importantly, rediscovering happiness.

In spite of some of the low points I’ve encountered in 2013, I realized that I’ve actually felt happier in the past 6 months than in the past couple of years. It’s the kind of happiness akin to bingeing on your favorite ice cream in bed while watching a rerun of your favorite series in your most comfortable pjs…at 3am in the morning on a working day. The kind that is also slightly tinged with a feeling of secret glee that can only come from indulging in guilty pleasures.

And with that feeling of happiness, comes conviction and clarity. I have more confidence in myself, I feel mentally stronger, I’m clear about what I want and when I want it. I know where my focus should lie and I’m contented with the decisions I’ve made and the things I’ve said.

My heart and mind are at peace.

2013: FB in review

2013 was surprisingly good to me in such unexpected ways, and I’m excited…truly, truly excited to see how 2014 will turn out.

Bring it on.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to rediscovering happiness.

What's on your mind?

What’s this?

You are currently reading rediscovering happiness. at love . chance . choice ..

meta

